Add a critical message to the updates page

Purpose

This document gives instructions for adding a critical message to the updates page. A critical message is intended to notify passengers, airport meeters & greeters, and Sea Island employees of issues and incidents at YVR. Since the critical message pages are informational only, avoid adding graphic images to these pages. Use an informative, gentle and reassuring tone.

Contents

Instructional video

Adding a critical message to the updates page

Submitting your changes for approval

Adding the critical message to the Passengers, Business or About YVR homepages

Setting the order of critical messages in the navigation

Instructional video

Adding a critical message to the updates page

  1. Log into Sitecore using your credentials.
  2. Select the Content Editor.
  3. To add a critical message to the updates page navigate to ‘Updates’ in the content tree.
  4. Right click on ‘Updates’.
  5. Select Insert.
  6. Select ‘Critical message page’.
  7. Give the page a name.
  8. Under the Content heading in the tree-list, set the severity.
  9. Fill in the Alert Message, Title and Body text.
  10. Under metadata, add a metadata description.
  11. Select the ‘show item in the navigation?’ checkbox.
  12. Under ‘Lifetime’ set the ‘Valid from’ date. You can set a ‘Valid to’ date here also if you know the date that you want the critical message to be valid to.
  13. Press save in the top navigation ribbon.

Submitting your changes for approval

  1. Submit your update for approval. For instructions, click here.

Adding the critical message to news panel on the Passengers, Business or About YVR pages

Use the news panel and the appropriate audience targeting settings.

In the content editor tree visit Lists > Panels > Passengers > News and updates panel and adjust the settings under Details.

Setting the order of updates in the navigation

The order that Updates and Critical Messages show in the navigation can be controlled by the order they are in the Content Tree. They can be adjusted by dragging and dropping above/below other items in the content tree.

Right-click and select Publish sort order changes from the context menu.

Pages that are in a workflow will not have their content published, just the sort order.

 

Can't find what you're looking for?