Add an update to the updates page

Purpose

This document gives instructions for adding an update to the updates page. The updates page provides information and updates to the public regarding events and incidents that occur in or affect YVR. Since the updates pages are informational only, avoid adding graphic images to these pages. Use an informative, gentle and reassuring tone.

Contents

Instructional video

Adding an update to the updates page

Submitting your changes for approval

Adding the update to the Passengers, Business or About YVR homepages

Setting the order of updates in the navigation

Instructional video

Adding an update to the updates page

  1. Log into Sitecore using your credentials.
  2. Select the Content Editor.
  3. Navigate to ‘Updates’ in the content tree of the content editor.
  4. Right click on ‘Updates’.
  5. Select Insert.
  6. Select ‘Update page’.
  7. Give the page a name.
  8. Under Content in the item tree, give the page a subtitle.
  9. Update the date.
  10. Write a location.
  11. Select which target audiences the update is targeting.
  12. Choose the boilerplate template.
  13. Give the update a title, and enter the body text.
  14. Select the ‘Show social sharing buttons checkbox’.
  15. Under ‘Navigation’ select the ‘Show this item in navigation checkbox’.
  16. If required, you can set the lifetime date under ‘Lifetime’.

Submitting your changes for approval

  1. Submit your update for approval. For instructions, click here.

Adding the update to the Passengers, Business or About YVR homepages

Use the news panel and the appropriate audience targeting settings.

In the content editor tree visit Lists > Panels > Passengers > News and updates panel and adjust the settings under Details.

Setting the order of updates in the navigation

The order that Updates and Critical Messages show in the navigation can be controlled by the order they are in the Content Tree. They can be adjusted by dragging and dropping above/below other items in the content tree.

  1. Right-click and select Publish sort order changes from the con-text menu.
  2. Pages that are in a workflow will not have their content published, just the sort order.

Can't find what you're looking for?