Locking and unlocking items

Purpose

All content authors must ‘lock’ items before editing them so that no other user can edit them at the same time. After a content author has finished editing an item, they should check it back in.

Contents

Instructional video

Locking items for editing

Unlocking/checking items back in

Instructional video

Locking items for editing

Select the item that you would like to edit from the content tree in the content editor, and:

  • Select the ‘Lock and Edit’ link on the message that appears at the top of the item tree list:
  • Or select ‘Edit’ in the top navigation ribbon under Review.

Unlocking/checking items back in

Select the item that you would like to check-in from the content tree in the content editor, and click Review > Check In

Can't find what you're looking for?